EXODIANS

Netizens of The Word

To criticize, or not to criticize: that is the question

Posted by darbs on September 16, 2009

Jan's Avatar

Jan Geronimo of  “Writing To Exhale” has a very interesting entry in his blog entitled; “The Art of Criticizing Blogging Buddy.”

Here is the question that caught my attention: How do I respond to an objectionable in a friend’s (Social Networking Definition of friendship) post?

Case scenario:

He (the blogger) did all the heavy lifting all right, but should he be commended if he places the sofa in the bathroom and the dining table in the garage?  Shouldn’t you have the right to tell him he’s out of his mind?

Answer: Yes, I may have the right to tell the blogger that he is out of his mind but as much as possible, I should avoid using those words.

Follow up question: What if somebody tells me that “I am out of my mind or something?”

Here is how I describe: If you put your finger in Charlie’s mouth and you know well that he is teething and in that particular  age he likes to bite, then he will bite you.

He is just being Charlie… your buddy, your brother and your friend…the social networking way.

Did I make sense?

6 Responses to “To criticize, or not to criticize: that is the question”

  1. Oooops, there I go again. Ahahaha. You got me there,Darbs. You can take my mug shots now. lols.

    There’s a fine line indeed between being passionate about what you write and being obnoxious. Of course, I can always breezily dismiss it as enthusiasm getting the better of me, but at the end of the day it’s still very unfortunate, isn’t it. Because if I run roughshod over a friend’s body just to prove I have better ideas, then I’m being a jerk. If I’m indeed a friend then I should realize we’re past peeing contests anymore, aren’t we.

    We can only hope we can live down this kind of unfortunate mistake. My wise reader told me the person is more important than the blog. That’s a good yardstick to live by.

    I love the video, Darbs. Very appropriate for this post.🙂

  2. superlolongpinoy said

    Sa totoo lang ako ay nangangapa pa sa blogosperyo. Ako open ako na ma-critize o mai-correct ng iba para maitama ko agad ang aking ginagawa…lalo na mula dun sa mga matagal ng nagsusulat. Dahil pumasok na ako sa mundo na ito ay talagang dapat handa sa mga di maka-appreciate pero siyempre andun ang resposibility ko na ang purpose ko ay makapag-share ng mabuti & tama sa iba o sa babasa. Naga-ask nga ako sa iba na sabihin sa akin ang puwedeng kong gawin para ma-improve ang aking blog or articles. Maaring habambuhay na itong blog ko sa Internet kaya mabuting pagbutihan ito para naman kahit papaano ay maalala ito na isang magandang blog sa loob ng blogosperyo…kahit wala na ako.

    Sa sinabi ni Mr Jan Geronimo:

    “…the person is more important than the blog.”

    Saludo po ako dito at isang magandang gabay para din sa akin.

    Salamat po sa mga articles ninyo…natututo ako.

  3. browny99 said

    pinabilib mo nanaman ako darb ! I like your peculiar way of thinking.
    And to Jan, well, you always meet my great expectations everytime I do hopping to your site, great content- I couldn’t ask for more !

Leave a Reply

 
